Referees Blow Off Sidney Crosby After He Was Hit From Behind

Published March 20, 2023 at 9:38 PM
BY

Late in the first period of a match between the Senators and the Penguins, a scary play occurred, a play which involved a less than useful player laying a dirty hit on a star.

Crosby was hit from behind in what was a dirty play



Austin Watson for the Senators, who has more penalty minutes than games played, gave Sidney Crosby a dangerous, useless cross-check to the back, which resulted in Crosby falling to the ice. The officials did not call a penalty on Watson for this dirty play




Luckily, Crosby did not leave the game, and was only slightly shaken up by the hit, and will no doubt feel the results of this hit while carrying the Penguins through the playoffs.

This recent quality of officiating resulted in no penalty being called on this uselessly dirty play. Crosby was later seen arguing the lack of a call with the referees. Crosby has recently taken a stance and has spoken up about player issues, criticizing the playoff seeding format and the inability for players to comment on officiating. This incident will no doubt compel the NHL superstar to further advocate for better playing conditions in the NHL.

As seen on Bladeofsteel - Crosby shaken up after hit from behind, but somehow a penalty isn't called
POLL
March 20   |   125 answers
Referees Blow Off Sidney Crosby After He Was Hit From Behind

Should the referees have called a penalty on this play?

Yes10080 %
No2520 %
LIST OF POLL
Latest 10 stories